How to write a to-do list you can actually accomplish!

Hello beautiful people. Now we are a family of more than 200! Thank you so much for following my blog and appreciating my work, it really means alot. Happy 2019 you guys. This is the first post of the year and I am so excited. I hope this year is treating you all well so far.
Life update is that finals are over and vacations have officially begun so as promised I’m back with another post, actually the first one for this year. Quite late but I have a problem. I am being my super lazy self these days and I don’t want to do anything and I have to like put in so much effort while writing this post because I would just write a paragraph and then stop and had to keep reminding myself that I need to publish this as soon as possible so yeah finally I am doing it. Wohooo!!!

As far as making resolutions is concerned, I can’t stick to them for a very long time so it’s just not my thing. Obviously I know what I want to achieve or what are my goals but for me what’s more convenient is to write a to-do list every day. It just makes things easier for me and gives me motivation plus a clear vision of things I have to do. I know many people make a list but they still can’t follow it somehow so I thought of sharing some tips for you guys specially for people who can’t stick to their to-do list.

1) PICK A MEDIUM

So first of all you have to choose a medium. If you want to write it down then you need to purchase a diary/planner. Mostly I write on my phone’s notepad because I can easily track what I am supposed to do and whenever an important thing comes into my mind, I just add it to the list. It’s easier for me that way but at the same time I know most people find it easy to write it down in a diary/planner so choose whatever is convenient for you!

2) MAKE IT SIMPLE

A simple to-do list makes you feel less frustrated and you do things on time as well. For a complex list which is long you will take a long time figuring out what to do and what to exclude and that is actually the reason most people do not want to look at the list they made. I used to do that alot because I used to add all the unnecessary information in that and honestly once I made the list, I won’t look at it the whole day and I would miss most of my routine tasks including my university work and blog work so it took me a while to figure out what was wrong and I came to know that okay the problem is this. I eliminated it by making a simple, to the point list and trust me it helped me.

3) DONOT ADD ROUTINE TASKS

Make it a short one by including tasks that are of most importance. Like I said earlier, unnecessary information just makes your list long and it feels like a burden. The routine tasks that you know you have to do and there’s no point forgetting about them like cleaning, dishwashing, do not add these into the list because then the important tasks will be neglected. I am sure this will help you all as well.

4) SIT DOWN AND RELAX

This is very important because sometimes a task can take longer than what we have imagined or it gets completed in less time but that’s not an issue. Make sure that you are giving yourself some time and space before starting a new task so that you can think about what you have to do next and you can just relax for a few minutes just to not make those tasks a burden you know. I don’t know about you all but for me when something feels like a burden, I just don’t want to do it. When I make a list, I don’t add time like in my mind I know that I have to complete this and that in a day and the reason for that is I am really bad at time planning like I would totally do opposite of it, I do most of the tasks at the end time. Things work out for me that way. I can’t complete my work few days before I have to submit it, I’ll do it when it’s due tomorrow. That’s something I need to work on but I don’t know I am kind of ok with it.

5) STAY MOTIVATED BECAUSE IT’S NOT THE END OF THE WORLD!

Last but not the least if you are unable to complete what you wanted to do, that’s okay. Donot feel frustrated or demotivated that you couldn’t do it. There’s always a room for improvement and this is a whole process of learning you know, learning from your mistakes, learning to organize things, learning to plan and actually if you couldn’t complete your list that is still not a loss because now you will do it more efficiently so it’s a win-win situation guys.

So that’s it. These are some of the things I keep in mind while making a list, I hope you liked reading this post!

Do let me know how do you make a to-do list? And and and tell me how’s 2019 going? How’s life?

Let’s have a conversation in the comments section below๐Ÿ‘‡

Also many people asked me to do a post on skin care/hair care routine but to be honest i don’t have any routine but I am planning to do a post on that so yeah. Do let me know if you want me to write on a specific topic. Thank you!

I hope 2019 turns out to be the best year of your lives๐Ÿ’›

Thank you for stopping by. Xoxo

Love and light.

20 thoughts on “How to write a to-do list you can actually accomplish!

  1. Madeline Johnson says:

    Thanks for these tips on strengthening to do lists. I always put way too much on my list. I think I can accomplish more in a day than I actually can. I am not sure why I do that. Very frustrating. Any advice you have is appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • usranaeem says:

      Like I said, your list needs to be more clear and simple, free of extra stuff. So one thing you can do is organize it in a way that the most important tasks should be at the top and try to ignore things that you think you can do some other day. And then when you have completed all the important tasks and you have time and you don’t feel tired, you can actually do one of those tasks aswell but make your list a simple one because otherwise you’ll feel stressed. I hope this helps!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sinรฉad Anna Chalke. says:

    Absolutely loved this post lovely ๐ŸŒธโœจ
    If you could check my latest post out and leave a comment it would mean the world, thanks so much! ๐Ÿ’—
    butterfliesandboundaries.wordpress.com/2019/01/21/6-months-of-being-mrs-chalke-๐Ÿ‘ฐ๐Ÿป๐ŸŒธ/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AYEINA says:

    It’s great how you choose different topics to write on. JazakilAllahu Khayr for such great tips. Indeed staying motivated is important and it’s okay to take things slowly but steadily! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  4. lubnakarim06 says:

    I just wonder where did the jan go and now i wonder where did the half od feb go….time is running super fast to me…thank you for making coming up with this post…it is quiet helpful and I usually make my list in mobile notepad, as I keep forgetting things…resolutions are not my thing too…there are some simple rules that i follow to T…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment